The many sides of Mauritius: me, myself, the other me,…

 jekyll_hyde_bg.jpeg

Mauritius is a complex country and its people are even more complicated. Here we seem to live for appearances and while this may be the complete opposite of what we are. Yet, if only that was the only thing, I would understand but there are lots more; some people are like Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde exhibiting two very different persobnalities in Mauritius and when abroad. What I say may seem hard to understand but I’ll illustrate that with some examples:

  • A dholl purri paper is thrown out of a very posh BMW…
  • Abusing soemone on our way back from churches/mosques/temples …
  • A boy sleeps with many girls when studying abroad but wants to marry a virgin once in Mauritius…
  • A very religious girl sleeps with a guy behind her husband’s back…
  • We are always talking about (and praising) some countries like India, China,… but yet we all want to immigrate to Australia, England, …
  • We all pray to God but we despise someone because he is of a lower caste/another religion/…
  • A very independent working girl / boy bowing himself/herself to marry someone that his/her parents have chosen that he/she doesn’t like…
  • Smoking and drinking till drunk and yet pretending to have never touched alcohol…
  • Condemning racism (and the likes) and yet voting someone at the elections because he is “like” me…

I’m sure that most of you have witness one or more of these and personally I don’t know what to think of these. I’m tempted to find excuses but can life be all about excuses…

4 responses to “The many sides of Mauritius: me, myself, the other me,…

  1. Indeed, you are correct my friend. And we both know that it’s been like that since the college years. I’ll go as far to say that most Mauritian are like that and you know how much i despise inconsistency of thinking.

    Too bad though that me and you are a minority.

    To change this situation would require ‘un eveil’ which since you know me,🙂 i cannot really hope that such an action would occur ‘en masse’ and therefore me and you will have to endure the mediocrity of the rest.

    But as Nietszche did say “what does not kill me makes me stronger”. On these eternal words I shall rest my case.

  2. wiiiiiiiiiiiiii ou ena raison.

    ahahahaha, et lor la ou inn met sa dans 1 facon comic!

    the only thing we can do is.. laugh :p coz its fcking hilarious, while me… i always get in a fight at home when i dare say such things about people in my surrounding, my parent will say “to pa konn vivre dans la societE twa.. to bizin konn ferme liziE” hahahaha..

    blogged4ever.com
    +$3|

  3. This is really a GREAT, FULL OF TRUTH and RIGHT TO THE POINT post.

    What excuses to find??? For what??? To cover hypocrisy and ignorance (I am sorry, but it is year 2007…)? To cover lies? To cover disrespect towards human beings of 100% proved integrity from all points of view? To cover COWARDICE?

    Unfortunately, it is beyond anyone’s imagination what is going on overthere. I am definitely shocked of what I had to discover by myself behind the appearances.

    Definitely, we are a real minority, but we will LIVE life and not just PASS through it by living it to please third parties or lying ourselves. I feel real pity for the rest.

Leave a Reply

