Daylight saving time in Mauritius

After 26 years, we have Daylight saving time back again. Why was it abolished after a one year trial back then? It will be hard for me to say exactly (I was one year old back then) but from what I gathered it was because of political reasons.

Why is it being reintroduced?

The reason put forward is: we want to save money on electricity. This seems to make sense since we will light up our houses later but unfortunately many studies (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylight_saving_time) have seen no real benefit in terms of energy savings! Anyway I suppose that we will have to wait for at least 6 months to know the real effect on the Mauritian economy.

What do I think of it?

Well, from what I gathered from Wikipedia, very few tropical countries use it! The map below (from Wikipedia) shows that:

The colour code is as follows:

  • blue – country using it
  • orange – countries that have abandoned it
  • red – countries that have never used it

This might simply be because the changes in lighting, between summer and winter, is simply not that extreme in tropical regions. This lead me to another point: is it wise to end summer time in March? We are starting it in October  after the equinox (same length day and night) but ending it after the March equinox where it might be quite dark in the morning – if the sun rises at 6 a.m. in March, it’ll mean that the sun will rise at 7 a.m. and anyone going to work or school will find it pretty dark!

Having said all this, I must admit that I however do like it simply coz I like it when it’s still bright when I get home after work!

4 responses to “Daylight saving time in Mauritius

  1. Indeed the idea of daylight saving is good. As you said it is much better to come back home when it’s still bright.

  2. I won’t be able to confirm 100% about the 5 hour time difference but given that in Mauritius, it’s usually GMT +4, if we advance our clock in Mauritius by 1 hour, then it makes sense to believe that in 1982 we also had a 5 hour time difference between Mauritius and UK.

  3. Excellent site pascalg.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here: this .. as it’s taken me literally 1 hours and 10 minutes of searching the web to find you (just kidding!) so I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

Leave a Reply

