Creole nicknames

I wonder why so few Mauritians have a creole nickname. In fact, apart from myself, zetwal, I don’t know any other person having a creole nick! Most of them have either a french or English one. Why is that so? Are we ashamed of our mother-tongue?

By analogy, one of my french mates, who has a french nickname, told me that he is one of the rare french having a french nick; most of his friends have an English one just to appear cool.

Are we doing the same here? I guess yes, we don’t see creole as cool but English and French, oh God yessssss!!! πŸ˜‰

6 responses to “Creole nicknames

  1. Well chose my nick since I was in form 5 with u dude and at any rate i took my inspiration from a book. my other nick NOVACAT i took it from a game.:)
    these are my world that’s y i choose from them. Maybe now i shud call myself ‘le manzer fess’:)

  2. PS god no french, i mean i know Mauritius is bad but do we really want to emulate a nation that has lost 2 world wars + beginning of vietnam war? seriously!

  3. lol am no better with a japanese nick i guess ? πŸ˜€ (Kyu is short form for kyushiro, or kyusheishi, depends on my mood πŸ˜‰ )

Leave a comment